Cigar Aficionado Online    Cigar Aficionado Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Cigar Talk    Woman dies after being denied abortion for religious reasons
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Woman dies after being denied abortion for religious reasons
 Login/Join

Picture of anchovie2
posted Hide Post
Lordy lord you are talking absolute crap, bolidude.

quote:
Originally posted by bolidude:
Actually, I am a surgeon.

Of course you are.

Posts: 7909 | Location: Stockholm, Sweden | Registered: December 06, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of sobek
posted Hide Post
quote:
Was she in the hospital, did she go home and not return for a few days? Do you know ALL that happened, All I am saying is, don't be so quick to judge.

quote:
Doctors told her she was losing her 17-week pregnancy, as her cervix had dilated and the amniotic sac had broken, and that the foetus would not survive.

She was in extreme pain. Assuming the article is accurate, they had to know septicemia was likely. Even some guy with a degree from the Caribbean should be able to figure this one out.

Posts: 8065 | Registered: June 29, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of gasdoc
posted Hide Post
I'm chairman of Obstetric Anesthesia at my hospital. The outcome for a fetus with premature rupture of membranes at 17 weeks is so dismal, most obstetricians in the states wouldn't dare risk the mother's life to try to save it. Even the ones that dont do "abortions" would not consider this to be an abortion. This woman died because of cultural differences, nothing more.

Posts: 1177 | Location: Northern NJ/East Hampton, NY | Registered: December 21, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of anchovie2
posted Hide Post
religious differences, you mean.

Posts: 7909 | Location: Stockholm, Sweden | Registered: December 06, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of gasdoc
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by anchovie2:
religious differences, you mean.